The Truth Behind Senior Blurbs

By Azzurra M.

 

Each year since I was in 9th grade after receiving my yearbook I would spend time reading through the Senior Blurbs. I spent time imagining the time that I would be in the position to write my own blurb. Who would I thank? How would I begin? Which photos would I include? With senior year rapidly coming to a close, I can finally report on everything behind the blurb.

First off, the timing. I had planned to spend a great deal of time pouring out all the memories of high school and due to the timing this wasn’t a possibility. If you’ve ever felt so overwhelmed with work that you have no time for anything, that’s exactly how the second semester of senior year feels like. Orals, IAs, TOK and then on top of that add your senior blurb. In all fairness, we were given a great deal of notice before the deadline, however, if you are a frequent reader of my column you would know that I was, and unfortunately still am, suffering from a major case of Senioritis. In short, I allowed myself a week to write something that I had hyped up for over four years.

The second problem I faced when writing my blurb was what to write. Each senior is allocated one page. We are given no rules except no font smaller than 9.5 font and to ensure that the majority of the writing was completed in English. To keep things simple, when using a 9.5 font and a large border for photos, it doesn’t leave a whole lot of space for writing. So, in such a short space who do you thank? Naturally, I thanked my family first, then came my closest friends. The problem arose on who to thank after that, if your anything like me, you have your closest ride-or-die friends then another circle of friends who have had a significant impact on your life. How many do I include? Were they also going to include me? Nothing, I repeat nothing!! is more awkward than having a friend who you couldn’t include in the blurb tells you that they included you. Suggestion…. They should give seniors two pages to avoid all awkward encounters.

Finally, the one question I kept getting asked after I finished writing my blurb was: “How do you feel? Was it emotional?” The simple answer: no. The reality of leaving didn’t actually hit me until my final performance of The Wiz. I’m sure when I finally get to see the printed version I’ll be more emotional, but it has taken me a great deal of time to realize that my time at Marymount means more to me than one A4 page.

Leave a Reply

