A Letter to Sr. Rosaleen

By: Marta A

For this month’s article I have decided to write a letter to a great woman who has impacted my life and the life of many others. This amazing woman is Sr. Rosaleen. In this letter I hope to explain how she’s helped others and myself. I also hope to thank her for all that she has done, yet this is close to impossible because she has given so much of her life to Marymount that no number of words are enough to do her actions justice.

Dear Sr. Rosaleen,

As sad as I am that I will not see you everyday on the lovely Marymount campus, I look back on my last fourteen years at Marymount and think of how you have influenced my life for the better in so many ways. From preparing me for the Sacrament of Confirmation, to always supporting the work the Zambia Committee has done to the children in Africa, and I will always remember how you made sure I was all ready for the Saints parade we did in preparation for Confirmation. Your enthusiasm was contagious, which sparked my interest in learning about St. Theresa of Avila. After having researched about St. Theresa of Avila for a couple of weeks came the day of the parade. I was very nervous, but you reassured me by saying I would do well and not to worry. This gave me confidence and shows how you always knew what to say to make one feel better. In my high school career, you have encouraged me with everything I have done at school but especially the work done by the Zambia Committee. I appreciate the way you always asked about the trips, congratulated all the speakers at every assembly and asked what our plan was for the next fundraiser. Every time we crossed paths in front of Butler Hall I would tell you everything that was going on in the Committee and what our next big project was. This shows you were not just good with words, but you also knew how to listen to everyone’s stories. As Ms. Zarineh said during the assembly in her lovely speech thanking you for all your contributions and work at Marymount “Thank you Sister, as you will always continue to release emotions in the hearts of the people that were fortunate enough to have crossed your path.”

We will miss you, Sr. Rosaleen, and we will forever be thankful for everything you have done for us here at Marymount.

Sincerely,

Marta

Leave a Reply

